The WISENet Bursary was established in 2012 as an initiative of WISENet member Associate Professor Jo O’Neil.  It is intended to support a female university student studying to teach STEM subjects (Science, Technology, Engineering and/or Maths).  The bursary is part of the extensive scholarship scheme run by Graduate Women Victoria (GWV; formerly AFUW Vic).

The 2015-2017 WiSENet Bursaries will be provided thanks to the generous support of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE).  The bursary recipient will be linked to the Academy’s schools in curriculum program, known as STELR, which is aimed at enhancing science and maths learning through a context of relevant and enquiry based learning. STELR operates in 400 schools across Australia and is also taught in a number of pre-service training universities.

In 2016 a second WiSENet bursary will be offered thanks to the generous support of an anonymous donor.

Details of the WiSENet bursaries will be advertised on the Graduate Women Victoria website, as they become available.

You can help support this important bursary by sending donations to the Australian Community Foundation using the WISENET donation form [PDF], or by adding a donation to your subscription renewal. Donations made directly to the Australian Communities Foundation are tax deductible.

Bursary Winners:

  • 2012:  Paulina Gutierrez Ramos – Australian Catholic University
  • 2013:  Tracey M Bryant – RMIT University
  • 2014:  Khundakar Nilufar Sharmin – RMIT University
  • 2015:  Nicole J Fausten – RMIT University

Paulina was the inaugural winner of the WISENet Bursary.  You can read her story here.